Joining The Fray

And…….go!

Ok, here I am, starting my 3rd, yes 3rd WordPress blog.  “Why?” you ask?  Well, to be fair, this is my first blog written in English.  Yes, you read that right.  I have another blog written in Spanish as well as one written (albeit poorly) in Italian and soon enough I plan on beginning one in French.  So why English and why now?  Well, despite my love of learning foreign languages, I found I was stiffled when I really just wanted to go off on tangents.  I don’t know enough foul words to express myself clearly enough in Spanish and sometimes it drives me mad.  I can be a rather verbose person when it comes to writing, and limiting myself to a foreign tongue was becoming increasingly difficult.  While I love spending time learning new languages, there is more to me than just that and I felt it was time to hit on these subjects a bit.

You’ll notice this blog has a different theme than my others.  This is intentional.  I want to keep this blog apart from the language ones.  This is my space to be me and vent when I want to vent and not worry about whether I conjugated the verb correctly or not.  So who am I?  I guess today is the day to deal with that.

My name is James, and I suppose if you are some identity thief, that’s probably more than enough information you would need to steal my life, so I am not going to worry too much about what I put here.  Besides, if anyone really was foolish enough to steal my identity, they are welcome to have all the debt I currently posses.  Anyway, you’ve got my name and my age.  Now how about a little more?  I live alone in an apartment in Connecticut.  Ok, I won’t go so far as to give you the town, just to be safe.  I’m single, an aspect of my life I still have not entirely decided on how I feel about just yet.  I write in phrases more than in complete sentences.  If you don’t like my grammar, go elsewhere, I dealt with grammar nazi’s all through high school.  I work at McDonald’s.  Yes, the fast food joint.  If you want to jump to some conclusions now about who I am, what I look like, or the type of people I hang out with, go right ahead, and then join the grammar nazi’s.  I am a manager, not a fry cook, and I happen to like my job….most of the time.  It’s not perfect, but I work with some great people and normally have a lot of fun, so unless you have worked in a place like McDonalds, I would ask you to keep your assumptions to yourself.

Back to the single life thing.  You may have noticed I have a bit of a sarcastic tone to my writing, and yes, it carries over to my social persona.  I tend to be a quiet person (social anxiety anyone?) and this often leads people to view me as arrogant or disinterested.  This usually isn’t the case.  Well, not always.  I tend to shy away from public gatherings like bars or clubs, and this has hindered my dating life.  I didn’t worry about it too much in high school, and I let it go in college, but now I am 30 years old, I have friends who are married and have children, and I don’t even have a date for the movies.  Sometimes I feel better off about that.  I see the roles we all have to play and the hoops that we jump through to find a mate, and I often feel relieved that I don’t have to go through all that.  However, there is that nagging sensation that I should have a family.  I do, on occassion, think about having a kid, and while sometimes I see the little brats that run around McDonalds screaming about chicken nuggets and toys and I think I am better off without offspring, I can’t help but imagine those days in the park when I can toss a ball with my son or push my little girl on the swings.  Of course, to get to the kid part, I have to jump through all the other hoops first.  Sure, there are faster ways to have a kid, but I want my mom to be proud of me!  I have a nephew, and he’s awesome, but I am selfish and kind of want one of my own.  So this begs the question, how do I go about finding the right woman?  (I still struggle with using the term woman versus girl…..30 is a creepy age for me….is it acceptable to date girls at 30?  I don’t know)

Like any guy, I would like to find the perfect girl, but I tend to be too picky.  No wait, that’s not true.  I tend to not even come across anyone I would have the courage to ask out.  I am a very solitary person, and as I said, not a big fan of bars or clubs.  Sure, I like to go out for a drink with my buddies, but I do not go out with the intention of hooking up with someone.  (Hooking up….can I still do that?)  I want to find a girl….woman…..that I am comfortable sitting down with at a coffee shop talking about whatever.  I am not interested in going shopping for shoes, dancing at the club, or…I don’t know, what else to couple do these days?  I am simple.  I like simple things.  I like a girl who dresses nicely, not elegantly, who eats meat and vegetables, who likes baseball, but doesn’t need a six pack to enjoy it.  I like a WOMAN (sorry) who doesn’t NEED a man, but would like to find a partner.  I am single and can certainly function as a single guy, so I don’t want to find someone who needs to latch on to another.  I try to accept people for who they are (Ok, no one is perfect and I make judgements all the time, but like I said, I TRY) and I would like to find someone (girl or woman) who can accept me for me.  I’m not perfect, but I think I am an Ok person.  I don’t have a criminal record, I have never had a car accident.  I brush my teeth twice daily…..ok, on occassion I forget before bed…..I wash my dishes.  I go to the laundromat once a week, I try to get to the gym, but I make no promises on that one, and I give change to the Jimmy Fund everytime I go to the movies.  I love my family and try to see them as often as possible.  Sometimes I don’t make the bed.  I have Post It Notes all over the place.  I can be stubborn and I have a short temper, two qualities I am not proud of, but do not hide.  I can be a very private person (as I write to anyone in the world) but I am open to sharing things with those I am comfortable with.  I know that as we get older, all of us who are single tend to lower  our standards in the hopes of finding someone, and I think that often just leads to unhappiness.  I mean, are you really happy, or are you just settled?  I can see it either way I suppose, as if we maintain those high standards, we will most likely never find anyone.

Anyway, enough of that.  What else about me can I share with a world of complete strangers.  I like music from the 60’s and the 90’s.  Anything before, after, or in between really doesn’t do it for me.  (Of course there are exceptions to this)  I like comedy-drama movies where the guy gets the girl in the end (Ok, I am sentimental too, who knew?) or coming of age dramas, because someday, I will come of age I suppose.  I like to read books with mostly the same idea as the movies I like, and if you come to my apartment you will find half-read books strewn all about the place.  Despite my job, I don’t eat a lot of fast food, but it has its moments.  Mostly I try to eat well, but I am not a health nut by any means.  Cookies are my downfall.  I love quaint coffee shops, not StarBucks, although I will sit there if there are chairs available.  I don’t like beer, but love a good Jack and Coke.

So what brings me here today?  It’s my day off and I had already written a post in my Spanish blog, so I decided to go with this.  I make no promises as to what this blog will develop into, if anything at all.  I don’t take a lot of pictures or post videos of birthday parties.  This is mostly because I don’t have the patience to sit here and do all that, but that’s not to say something won’t pop up in the future.  In any case, comments are always welcome and I suppose questions as well, as it will give me ideas as to what I should write in the future.  I’ll do my best to be here as often as possible, but for now, I have to go grocery shopping.  And so it goes…….

~ by James on September 29, 2011.

3 Responses to “Joining The Fray”

  1. Wow, that’s wicked! I can’t believe you have two other blogs in other languages! I’m a bit of a tangle-tongue so I envy you! Makes me wanna buy Spanish and Italian dictionaries and decipher your blogs! lol! I may just have to do that..I have friends of various ages who work at Mickey D’s and I love visiting them at work ’cause I can tell how much fun they have! I really liked reading your first entry in English! I can’t get over how awesome that is, sorry! haha!
    Have you always lived in Connecticut? What’s it like there?
    hmm, I understand and agree with a lot of what you write. Jeez, I feel as though you are my male counterpart. Wait, that might sound creepy. *shrugs* oh well.
    Are you really that shy? It makes me sad that you’re lonely. You just need a female with patience and who isn’t afraid to make the first move to start a conversation with you. You’re interesting and obviously have opinions and thoughts of your own. You seem like a great guy from what I’ve read so far.
    Oh, I don’t mean to be presumptuous or anything, SORRY! I really hope I haven’t offended you. Uh, I have lots I want to write and ask you about, but I don’t even know if you’d write back considering how weird and scatter-brained I realized I am after this comment. Sorry James!

    Hoping to be a friend,
    Brittanie

    • Hi there….thanks for the comments! Feel free to check out those other blogs, but be warned, they aren’t very interesting. I tend to spout off a lot more in English. I don’t know enough swears in Spanish or Italian to really get out how I feel sometimes. I guess that’s why I started this one…I needed a way to vent in my native tongue. As far as your questions, yes, I have always lived in CT (where are you from?) and yes, I tend to be rather shy around people I don’t know. Once I get to know people I am much more open, but it takes me a while to get comfortable. Feel free to send me any more questions or comments, it’s nice to know people actually see this stuff and I am not just writing to myself. Looking forward to hearing from you!

      Your new friend,

      James

  2. Nice post! I hear ya about all the confusion about roles and the such in society about “dating,” et al. Related, consider:
    http://beyondthefaceoffacebook.wordpress.com/2011/11/17/dear-chronic-daters/

Leave a Reply

 
