Update

So I said I would update my story idea when I had some more details, so here it is.  Through a random course of events, some of which were inspired by the events of my last entry, I have begun writing a short story in Spanish and I have posted little snipets of it on my Spanish blog page.  So far it’s still in its most basic stages, but I have to say I’m happy I at least got it started.  Like most of the stories I have written throughout my life, I’m not sure how I want it to go just yet, but I have some ideas and I am hoping to expand on those over the next few weeks.  I’m in no rush to finish it, as it is great practice for writing in Spanish, as well as an excuse to spend time spying on my latina at Dunkin’ Donuts, where I did the most of my writing yesterday.  My goal is still ten pages worth of writing, and I plan on posting sequential parts as they come along.  I actually wrote the beginning, posted that, then wrote a chunk that would presumably come in the middle, but I am not going to post that part just yet as it doesn’t flow with what is already posted.  Today, I would like to hammer out another page or so before heading to work.  I won’t go into the details of what it is all about because, 1) I want you to go read it and figure it out on your own, and 2) I haven’t fully decided what it is about yet.  In any case, if you are only here because you clicked the Update link I posted here, you may stop reading.  If you are interested in more on my Dunkin’ Donuts woman, read on.

I went through with my plan, with some slight modifications.  I packed up my laptop and headed over to Dunkin’ Donuts yesterday afternoon with the intentions of doing some writing and hopefully some chatting with a certain young woman who worked there.  As usual, I found she was working in the drive thru, making approaching her a bit difficult, but I took a seat and waited for an opportunity to say hi.  That opportunity presented itself sooner than I expected, as she passed by me on her way to the ladies room and she said hello to me as she passed.  I was thrilled, but now I was a little stuck.  She had said hello and quickly disappeared into the ladies room.  Now I had to think of a way to talk to her some more once she made her way back.  Saying hello as she returned to her post would be a little silly, as we already exchanged greetings.  I had to think quickly, and unfortunately, I didn’t come up with much.  She went back to work and I was stuck staring at my laptop.  I did some writing, sipped my coffee, and formulated a more in-depth plan.  There were at least three other Spanish speaking women working there as I sat and worked and I decided my best course of action was to work my way through them to get to her.  If they gave me positive reviews, it would certainly help my chances with her.  I decided I was going to ask one of them a question in Spanish.  The problem was, what would I ask them?  I sat and thought for a while.  I had to be smooth, and I had to ask in clear Spanish without stumbling or I would look and sound like a fool.  I could hear them talking amongst themselves and it came to me.  They were discussing the coming holiday, so I would ask them how to say something in Spanish regarding Christmas.  I took another sip of my coffee, tried to calm my nerves by taking a deep breath, and I got up and approached the counter.  There were two women standing there, and one smiled and stepped towards me.

“Hi, hablan español, no?”  I asked, directing the question to any of the women behind the counter.

The one who offered to take my order smiled and responded, a little surprised, “Sí.¨  I had passed the first test.  Now was the real challenge.

¨Como se dice la noche antes de la navidad?¨  I was asking how to say Christmas Eve in Spanish.  Of course, I already know how to say Christmas Eve in Spanish, but they don’t know that.  Out of the corner of my eye I could see another of the employees smiling as she listened in.

“Ahh, La Noche Buena,” the first replied.

“Oh, of course!  Thank you!”  Ok, maybe I should have said Gracias, but I didn’t want to risk sounding too gringo in my response.  Sure, it wasn’t a lot, but it was a step in the right direction.  Now they know I speak Spanish, at least a little, and I can go forward from there.  I’m going to stay away for a few days, as I don’t want to seem to odd for dragging my computer to Dunkin’ Donuts day after day.  I think I’ll go back Monday afternoon and try to start up another conversation.  I gave thoughts to explaining to them my story idea, but I fear they may ask to read it and I am not sure I am ready for all that.  In any case, I am satisfied with my progress and look forward to continuing.  I’m not sure how this is all going to work out, but at the very least, I should have a half-way decent story written in a few weeks.  Wish me luck!

~ by James on December 16, 2011.

One Response to “Update”

  1. […] 2) My second goal for Spanish involves writing.  I have always enjoyed writing short stories, and I would like to write a short story in Spanish.  My goal for this is to write a ten page story also by the end of April.  I type fast, so I may surpass ten pages, but the plan is to take my time and both write correctly as well as write an interesting story.  This goal may take on a life of its own, as I have requested help from others in an online forum with this one.  We’ll update this one when I have more details.   Here’s the update. […]

Leave a Reply

 
