Is It Possible I’m Just Strange?

I read all these blogs about folks who’ve decided on a whim to give up their lives at home to travel all over the world, often times with no more than a backpack and a map.  Sometimes I think after reading these blogs, they want the rest of us to do the same.  While the idea of living in a foreign country has crossed my mind, when I truly sit and think about the pros and cons of this drastic life decision, I simply can not come up with enough good reasons to go anywhere but here.  That’s not to say I couldn’t be happy in other places, but the fact is, I’m settled here, I like it here, and I have responsibilities here.  So many people say they don’t want to end their lives with the regret of never seeing the world.  Yes, there are things in this world I would like for my own eyes to glance upon someday, but I don’t know that I will ever regret not living out of a bag, never having a place to call home.  Certainly vacations are an option, but honestly, I don’t have enough money to see all of Europe, nor do I like the idea of leaving my apartment unattended for more than a few days at a time.  I am not a materialistic person, but I do have my things and I like my things.  I don’t want to give them up in exchange for a passport and hiking boots.

Some people live their lives never having a permanent residence.  They spend a month in Beijing, a week in Portugal, a year in Madrid.  All that is well and good, but I happen to fancy the boring suburban American lifestyle.  I like my family and friends and cherish the opportunity to see them on a regular basis.  Long distance phone calls made from a train station don’t appeal to me.  We all know I take great pride in being able to speak Spanish and that I am working on Italian and French, but I am not about to use the 5 phrases I know to attempt to live alone in Europe.  I don’t care if I never set foot in 50 different countries or get lost in the mountains somewhere east of the Kremlin.  I want a house, a wife, a few kids, maybe a dog, a front yard, and the comfort of knowing I will have a steady paycheck, food on my table (that I can pronounce) and a warm bed every night.  And what if I find a wife someday who wants to travel the globe?  Well, like I said, vacations are one thing, and even living somewhere else is a possibility, but it needs to be something steady, not 6 months here, two months there, etc.

I was told probably sometime around the 4th grade that I grew old too young.  I am set in my ways and stubborn towards change.  I don’t see it so much as being stubborn, rather being content with what I have.  I don’t need a lot of things to make me happy, nor do I feel I have to have so many life experiences to say I’ve lead a fulfilling life.  I listed above what I want, and I don’t think that’s a lot to ask for.  I want to grow old with a woman I love, knowing I’ve raised a good family and knowing that I was a good person.  Yes, the world is rich in culture and things that I may never have the opportunity to see first hand, but if I can go to my grave knowing I was a good person who had a good family and a close circle of friends, I won’t regret not seeng the Great Wall of China or The Eifel Tower.  Is it strange to not want to travel?  You tell me.

~ by James on December 23, 2011.

3 Responses to “Is It Possible I’m Just Strange?”

  1. i’m not sure that it is about life’s experiences to make ones life fulfilling, i believe it is what we take from those experiences how we implement them into our lives. i do not think it is strange not to want to travel, what i think is strange is that you think it is strange to not want to. who knows how long were here or what we’ll see, for all i know i could live life in a cardboard box with four two crayons for the rest of my life. but it is not about the only two colors i have, it is what i do with those two colors.

    • You make a great point, thanks for the comment. I agree it’s all about who we are and what we do with what we have. I don’t necessarily have the luxury to hop on a plane to Africa or the North Pole anytime soon, but I would like to think I can still have an impact on the world or at least be happy with who and what I surround myself with. Thanks again….stop by anytime.

  2. […] talk to women using Skype, but they tend to be in Europe or South America somewhere.  Based on my last post I don’t think it’s very likely I will be making any trips to foreign countries to find […]

Leave a Reply

 
