Someday They Will See That I Was Right…Most of The Time

One of the most frustrating things in the world is to know you are right about something only to have others, possibly friends, family, co-workers, and the like, telling you are wrong.  I’m not talking about disagreements or opinion based arguments, I mean when I tell you the computer is broken and you tell me no it’s not, and three other people side with you instead of me.  I have encountered this type of situation again and again in my job.  While I am a manager, and have been a manager for nearly 15 years (damn, I make myself sound older than I am) I am still considered the baby on the totum pole.  I am one of three core staff members, but despite the experience I am still the third in line when it comes to respect.  Now, at first, I accepted this.  I was young and naive when I began.  I needed to learn and I understood my positioning.  Fifteen years later, I feel I know a few things and have earned the right to a little respect when it comes to the things I say or do in my job.  Now, I will be the first to admit, when it comes to things of a mechanical nature, I am not the most inclined person.  I have often said you could hand my boss and me two identical machine parts, tells us to take them apart and put them back together and his will work and mine will not.  I don’t know why this is, but I have just never been good at that type of thing.  If you show me how to do something, and I mean show me, not tell me, I can do it, and with practice I will do it just fine.  I can disassemble and reassemble our milk shake machine without any problem, but I have been doing it for years now.  Now, despite the mechanical issues, there are plenty of times I just see that something is not right, yet my boss will not believe me until another manager comes along and says it is in fact not working properly.  What is more frustrating about this is that now if something goes wrong, I am hesitant to point it out because I know I will get shot down, so when something finally fails, I get asked why I didn’t mention it sooner.

Sometimes, situations like this make me feel like the protagonist of some coming of age teenager geared novel, where the nerdy character is told he is wrong again and again until in the grand finale it is revealed he was right all along and he makes the high school football team, marries a cheerleader and starts a company called Microsoft.  Vindication at last.  I keep telling myself this will happen for me, but again and again I am told I am wrong, only to discover to myself that I was right, but no one ever comes along and says, Gee, you were right and we were wrong.  No, they just continually ignore that fact that every now and again, I am right about some stuff.

A while back, I wrote a post that generated a little controversy for me.  I wasn’t trying to rock the boat, even though I knew what I was talking about would possibly offend a lot of people.  I was simply spouting off about my own personal feelings, and it seems I ignored the fact that my thoughts and feeling can be just as offensive as those I was arguing against.  Now, I don’t want to revisit my rantings, but what I do want to do is point out something that is really bothering me about current events in the world.  To put it simply, some lunatic decided to film a movie which insulted greatly the Nation of Islam and basically every Muslim in the world.  Good job, buddy.  Because of his own hatred or whatever, he has spawned others not only to riot, but to kill, yes, kill innocent people (Americans, yes, but I’m leaving the nationality out of this).  What is it they find so offensive?  They are insulted by his view of their religion.  When are we going to learn?  How many people have died since the beginning of recorded human history fighting over their religious beliefs?  When are we going to see that life is worth living for, not dying for?  I am not here to tell others what to believe.  I am not here to tell you that you are right or that you are wrong.  All I want to know is, is it really worth dying over?  I don’t know anyone who lives in the Middle East.  I have never met someone from Iraq, Libya, Yemen, or any other country in that part of the world.  To add to that, I don’t know anyone from North Korea or Iran either.  I don’t have anything against any of these people.  They have every right to live as I do.  They have every right to worship whatever they want to worship.  My feeling is, as long as what they are doing is not hindering my life, live and let live.  And do not get me wrong here.  I am not condemning these people for rioting.  While I do not agree with that as a solution and I certainly do not accept them killing innocent people, they have a right to be angry just as I had a right to be angry on September 11, 2001.  I simply can not comprehend using religion as a basis for your fighting.  I feel like quoting John Lennon.  Wouldn’t we be better off with no religion?  I live in a country that flies a red, white, and blue flag proudly as a symbol of diversity and democracy, but that is also seen as a symbol of tyranny and oppression.  If I were crazy enough to set foot in any of these angered nations today, I could be killed for no reason other than I was born here.  I have to fear violence against me, even here in the United States simply because I live here and not there.  I don’t have any animosity against anyone simply for being from another nation or believing in something I don’t believe in, yet our government is currently sending troops to defend those living in places of danger.  In other words, there is going to be more rioting, more violence, more killing, all over something that we simply can not agree to agree on.  I am saddened to think in an age of intelligence, where we can send men to the moon, and someday cure the diseases that are killing so many of us, we still have to resort to rioting and destruction to “solve” our problems.

Just a quick addition to this, and that is that I feel, and again, this is just my opinion, but if Mitt Romney finds himself in the Office of the President of The United States of America, there will be a lot more death and destruction throughout the world, as he is already disposed to send troops back out around the world to lay down the law on people he has no right to lay the law down upon.  It’s too bad I don’t believe in God, otherwise I would say, God help us all.

~ by James on September 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
