This Was My Day, In Case You Were Wondering

Today is Saturday.  If I were to rank the days of the week in order of my favorite to least favorite, on a scale of 1-7, they would be as follows.  Thursday, Tuesday, Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday.  Why does Saturday fall so far, especially when it is one of my two days off? (Thursday being my other day off.)  Well, let me tell you and perhaps you’ll understand.

First of all, and this is key, despite being a day off, the fact that I have to get up at 3:20 AM Sunday morning prevents me from being able to do anything past about 7:00 at night.  Granted, I’m not a college student anymore, but it would still be nice to have the opportunity to go out on a Saturday night once in a while.  At the other end of the day, I can sleep in, since I work late Friday night, but if I sleep in, now I severely limit the amount of time I have to actually enjoy the day at all.  So now that both ends of the day are basically shot, I need to maximize what I do between say, noon and 6:00.  Since my best friend has been back home, we have spent a number of Saturday afternoons sitting in a Starbucks talking for a few hours.  I don’t mind sitting at Starbucks, and in fact we used to sit there back when we were in college until they were ready to close for the night.  As fun as that can be, I can’t drive to Starbucks every Saturday to just sit there for two or three hours.  Today, I decided to avoid that possibility by getting in my car and leaving my place before he could send me a message to get a coffee.  (To be fair, had he called or texted, I would have gone and would probably not be writing this, but whatever.)  Originally, I was going to drive to Barnes and Noble, browse the new books, and hope beyond hope that I would come across a young woman among the books who wanted to chat a bit with me.  instead, I drove right past the store and continued driving alone for about an hour.  I was listening to my Spanish instructional CDs, so I can at least say I accomplished something, but ultimately, I returned home having had absolutely no legitimate contact with another human being.  This has been a problem of mine on Saturdays.  Last winter, there were Saturdays in which I never left my apartment and aside from perhaps muttering a few Spanish phrases to myself, I talked to no one for the entire day.  I am pretty sure this is not healthy.

I have been doing very well with my goal of getting to the gym every day.  Today was a challenge.  While I was still home this morning, contemplating what I could do to keep myself active, I started dreading going to the gym.  It wasn’t that I didn’t want to go, it was just that I wasn’t feeling very motivated, and it didn’t help that my breakfast was slowly killing me.  I made myself pancakes (ok, I microwaved a stack of pancakes, I’m no chef.) and I ate those along with two parfaits I had brought home from work Friday night.  As usual, I downed a few cups of coffee and all of this lead to a number of problems.  One, I was incredibly full.  Despite their fluffy nature, three pancakes are quite filling and I practically forced myself to eat the parfaits.  (I would have had to throw them away otherwise and I hate throwing food away, part of the reason I started gaining weight.)  Combine being full with two very strong cups of coffee and I just was not feeling well at all.  I think I need to cut back on the coffee, as it really can make me feel ill if I drink more than one cup a day.  So now it was about noon and I had not really done much of anything.  (This was prior to my ride around town to nowhere.)  The gym was not looking good.  I did however, manage to make it there after I went to Stop and Shop.  I won’t say I had a great workout, but I am glad I at least kept my streak going.

That being said, I once again managed to not have any actual human contact aside from saying hello to the woman who greeted me as I entered.  I mean, let’s be honest, the only reason I was even able to motivate myself to get there this afternoon was because I lied to myself and told myself I would talk to someone there.  I can’t continue going days without talking to people.  Sure, I have to talk to people at work, but when I come home, I sit in silence.  I go to the grocery store, the gym, the gas station, wherever, in silence.  I enjoy talking to my friends when I have the opportunity.  That’s probably why Thursday is my favorite day.  It’s my greatest opportunity to talk to people.  Right now, once again I am home, watching the news in Spanish all by myself.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love having my own place and I don’t want a roommate or anything like that, but I would like to find someone (female/girlfriend/wife/etc.) that I can talk to on a regular basis.  I don’t want one of those relationships where I have to live with my phone attached to my head as we talk constantly, but having someone to share the little stupid events of my day would be welcome.

It’s only a little bit past 5:00 right now, and my day is all but over.  I’ll eat my dinner and flip through the channels until I decide I better go to bed if I don’t want to be totally miserable at work tomorrow.  Oh well.  Asi es la vida I suppose.  Maybe tomorrow will work out better.

~ by James on September 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
