It Doesn’t Only Happen In Other Places

I picked a bad time to be a pacifist who doesn’t swear.  After reading this story, I wanted to do bad things, most of which can not be described without a fair amount of foul language.  I have a hard enough time understanding anyone who can violate someone, but a group of  teenagers who can do some of the things described in that story just blows my mind.  Sure, I went to school with some jerks, and I recall one being tossed out in my freshman year for talking about things like that but how is it we have come to a point in our development that acts like this can be carried out without any sense of guilt or shame?  What makes the entire situation worse is that it seems the community involved was perfectly willing to cover up the issue as best it could in an effort to exonerate the criminals.  As a country, we have condemned acts of violence and sexual brutality in other countries while quietly sweeping the fact that it is happening here, right in front of our faces under the rug.  Does the fact some kid can throw a football pretty well mean he is free to do as he pleases towards others?  We have been dealing with the issue of bullying in this country recently, but this goes infinitely beyond bullying.  This is a human rights violation in every sense of the word.  Age and circumstance of the crime are irrelevant here.  No one has the right to do things like this to another person.  Ever.  In any country.  While I will continually argue that punishments are not sufficient deterrents to crime, those involved in this case should be punished in ways to prevent them from ever being able to carry out any sort of sexual act ever again.  I am neither judge nor jury and I don’t believe it is up to me to decide their fate, however, I imagine the majority of our society would be in agreement with me in this case.  Unfortunately, I don’t believe our laws can be amended only when it suits our needs, but if a crime like this goes unpunished, what kind of example is it setting for others who have the same sickened mentality that they have the right to do whatever they want to whomever they want?

As I have said in past entries, 2012 served as a year to open my eyes to so many things that are wrong with our society.  I have made it my intentions for 2013 to be more involved, or at least more knowledgeable to what is going on around me.  While my thoughts and intentions won’t bring about change on its own, perhaps by sharing my thoughts, I can inspire others to be more involved in the world around them.  I am not asking anyone to start a revolution, I am simply asking the world to open their eyes and see what is really going on.  The world isn’t all sunshine and rainbows (as Rocky Balboa pointed out) and we need to stop presuming someone else is going to step up and demand change.  I guess that’s all I have to say about that.  Hopefully others will have something to say.  Until next time.

~ by James on January 4, 2013.

3 Responses to “It Doesn’t Only Happen In Other Places”

  1. […] Si quieres leer la entrada en ingles, aqui esta. […]

  2. Hi, thank you for sharing your thoughts, because it feels really good listening to people who still can think by their own, and not like society demand us all to do…

    I hope you don’t take this the wrong way, but there all many people (like me), who think the same way, but they (we) are tired of telling our words to the wind, so they (we) simply gave up already. Nevertheless, I thank that there still are people like you who still want to make things right.

    Keep it this way
    and be rude with it.

    Thanks

    • Hey, I understand exactly how you feel. After a while, you grow tired of talking when you feel as if no one is listening. I guess my hope here is that at least someone will listen and if I can inspire even one person to change their way of thinking, maybe we can start making things right in this world again. Thank you for your comment, it is truly appreciated,

Leave a Reply

 
