I Am Not A Politician

I am not a politician, nor do I want to be.  In fact, until sometime last year, I knew very little of the political world.  I knew politicians were seen as liars, the government was supposed to be for the people, and George W. Bush was the worst thing to happen to this country since the Great Depression.  Look, I still don’t know a whole lot about how our government works, but I know one thing: it works, or at least it is designed to work in such a way that while many may not always be happy, it still functions as a democracy.  For all of our complaints against the United States Government, I will take ours over any other country’s any day of the year.  Sure, before I opened my eyes and started really paying attention to the world around me, there were times I became disillusioned with our country.  With all the fighting, wars, death, and destruction, I had given thoughts to packing up and heading out.  You know the old saying, “Love it or leave it.”  Well, I gave it some thought, and after spending some time educating myself to the political world around me, I decided the solution, the way to make things better, is not to leave it, but to stay here, stick it out, and do something to make it better.

I see many of the problems this country is facing as something more than a dispute between political parties, however, I will go so far as to say that I have come to identify much more with Democrats than Republicans and from what I have heard since I really started listening is a lot of crazy talk from the Republican party.  Sure, they have reasons behind what they say and do, I just feel that in my limited time of paying attention, they have shown themselves to be quite out of touch with reality.  Wait, let me back up on that.

Republicans obviously don’t see themselves being out of touch with reality.  They see their views as being perfectly acceptable.  The trouble with that is that I and so many others think those views are out of touch with the reality we live in.  That’s where the trouble begins.  No political party wants to see things from the others point of view.  While I may think the Republican parties views are off, simply butting heads with them time and time again will not get anything done.  My inspiration for writing this comes from all the silly back and forth name calling I see on various internet outlets.  Everyone, Democrat and Republican (and any other political affiliation) find more satisfaction in petty name calling than in working together to find a solution.  They president is referred to as a dictator, the Republicans are crazy, the Democrats are Nazi’s, and so on and so forth.  Instead of a mature debate on the issues, we argue and fight and try to come out on top, when in fact, no one ever wins the argument because at the heart of the matter there is no clear definition of right and wrong.

I could go on for hours on all the different issues that are being batted back and forth with no resolution in sight, but what would it prove if I can not offer a solution?  We’ve got the economy, gun control, women’s rights, education, poverty, foreign affairs, the list goes on and on.  We play the blame game, going back and forth on who is to blame for what, when in the end, does it matter?  We, as a country are in a mess.  Instead of griping about who is at fault, why don’t we work together to clean it up?  Let me try to make a point.  In my job, mistakes are made all the time.  Whether it be a spill, something gets broken, or things are made incorrectly, in the end the problem needs to be fixed.  As a manager, my job is not to point a finger at who is responsible for the mistake and spend time discussing what can’t be changed.  The mistake happened and now our job, as a team is to fix the problem and move forward.  Yes, perhaps identifying who is to blame will help to prevent the problem from happening again, but it is more important to act together to fix the problem rather than dwell on pointing fingers.  Granted, the United States government is a little more complex than that, I understand, but fundamentally, doesn’t this make more sense?

I have tried, somewhat in vain to get those around me to offer their voice on subjects that are relevant to them.  As I said, I am not an overly educated person when it comes to politics and my hopes in recent months have been to gain knowledge by listening to the thoughts and opinions of my peers.  I respect everyone’s opinion, provided it is a fair representation of how someone truly feels and not simply an attempt to rile the crowd.  I don’t claim to be revolutionary, I just feel fighting is not the answer.  We need to cross political party lines and come together as a think tank and find our way out.  As hard as it would be to accomplish, we need to all see things from the other sides perspective.  Democrats and Republicans need to leave their childish differences behind and realize their job is not to block each others progress every step of the way, but to work together for democratic solutions to the issues at hand.  Isn’t that the way it is supposed to be?  Like I said, I believe our government works.  I still believe, despite all the conspiracy theories, that a system of checks and balances is still in place, allowing for all of our voices to be heard, and while there will be times when people will not be satisfied with the outcome, the opportunity for change will always exist.  Our civil rights are not being taken away.  Our rights to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness are still in place.  There are those out there trying to challenge these ideals, and yes, the threat is real, but as an educated society, I still hold firm in the belief that as a country we can come together to make the right choices for all of us.

I am not a politician.  I don’t have the personality for it.  I do have a voice and I do want to be heard.  I think a lot of people feel the way I do but don’t know how to go about being heard.  Maybe this is where we start.

~ by James on March 14, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
