Maybe I Bit Off More Than I Could Chew.

I’m obviously trying to get myself together and it’s becoming increasingly difficult with each passing day.  Last night, I received an E mail regarding one man’s 90 day challenge to himself to learn Korean.  Now, from what I understand, he already speaks six or seven languages, maybe more, and I didn’t dig too deep to see what his actual challenge is aside from learning the language, but it did get me thinking a bit.  I’ve always been told it’s better to make smaller, more manageable goals as opposed to these great big long-term goals, as it is much harder to stick to a goal that has a finish line beyond your horizon so to speak.  In fact, I often advised anyone who wanted to start learning a language to start slow and stick to the basics.  I guess I should really take my own advice.  It got me thinking that while I don’t want to lose sight of my intended trip in 2016 I should probably come up with some similar 90 day goals that will be a little easier to envision and hopefully achieve.  Of course that means I am going to have to come up with some good ideas, but hopefully I can find a way to include my Spanish blog, my books and movies, and of course, the dreaded camcorder in some smaller, more manageable goals that I can carry out over the course of the aforementioned two years.  Given my Spanish blog is titled Tres Meses Hasta Exito, you’d think I’d remember to stick to the plan, but I guess even I can be lead astray.  I think I had become a little too comfortable and began to think my Spanish was better than it actually was.  Not that it’s bad, per say, but it certainly needs to be maintained if I don’t want to lose it.  I had become to complacent with my abilities, forgetting that like any other skill, it has to constantly be practiced, otherwise it slips way.  In any case, if I come up with 4-8 different goals to work on, I should be able to get myself prepared for that trip.

I think the first thing I should do is find a way to incorporate the camcorder slowly as I think my initial problem was overload.  I’m thinking I can simply read passages from previous Spanish blogs, or even record myself reading Spanish things out loud.  Instead of reciting a State of the Union address, I’ll try reading a bit from a children’s book.  I think starting small and simple is the best way to go.  Also, I think I’d be a lot more comfortable reading something to the camera s opposed to trying to just talk without any real script in front of me.

So that’s it for now.  I have to spend a little time now getting these new 90 day plans worked out.  I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

~ by James on January 16, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
