Post Television

So after 32 years of living with the likes of MTV, Nikelodeon, ESPN, and HBO, I have finally decided to forego cable television.  Well, in actuality, by cancelling cable, I have effectively taken away television as a whole as nothing comes in without an antennae.  I decided over the weekend that it made no sense to continue paying for a service that I rarely took advantage of.  I was paying roughly $100 a month for something I often went days without.  I called and cancelled the service yesterday and while I am still paid up through the rest of the week, I unhooked the box and have decided to just give it up cold turkey.  Sure, there are a few programs I may miss.  I used to think I could compete on Jeopardy so I’ll miss playing along.  I say I am a true baseball fan, so I may miss some of the fun when Spring arrives, but overall, I really think I will be better off without it, both financially and mentally.  Without a TV to distract me, I should find more time to work on the things I want to work on.  Sure, the internet is my next addiction to eliminate and while I doubt that will ever happen, perhaps eliminating TV is a step in the right direction.  I mean, here I am, writing instead of watching the news on Univision.  Yes, yes, part of the reason I held on to the cable for this long was for the ample amount of Spanish channels I could turn on and pretend like I was learning through immersion.  You see, when I first discovered the likes of Univision and Telemundo, I was extremely excited to have the opportunity to use them as learning tools, but the fact is, after years of watching the same programs over and over again, I find I’m not really listening to the programs, I’m just leaving it on as background noise mostly.  I understand a lot more than I did when I first started watching Spanish TV years ago, but I haven’t been very diligent in focusing on anything in particular lately.  Also, there are plenty of resources online that will allow me to listen to Spanish programs without having to subscribe to cable television.

In a year in which I have insisted I will save money it did not make logical sense for me to keep paying for cable.  I had given thoughts to giving it up months ago, but I kept refusing mostly because it was a feature I have always had in my life and I considered it one basic luxury I could provide myself with.  However, after looking over the things that I truly find to be important in my life, television fell to the bottom of the list, so I finally gave in and called it quits.  I know its silly to go on and on about TV, but it’s something I have been hemming and hawing over for a while now.  I could have saved a lot of money if I had just given it up years ago when the internet started providing all sorts of ways to watch things online.  Oh well, no use in looking at the past.  Now I just have to take advantage of my time and get back to really focusing on my Spanish.

All right, well, for now I will be on my way.  I have some books to read and some music to listen to and all that.  I’m sure we’ll be talking more often now that I have the time.  See you soon.

~ by James on February 4, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
