Almost There

As much as I should probably be focusing on my Spanish speaking abilities right now, I felt the need to take a little time expressing myself in English.  I’m two weeks away from leaving the United States to go live with Veronica in Spain.  The past year has been an utter blur for me, and the fact that all this has happened and is not some kind of wild dream is still amazing to me.  I guess it’s safe to say that with a little hard work and dedication, anything truly is possible.

People keep asking me if I am nervous.  Nervous is not the appropriate word.  When I really think about it; when I really think of what it means to be moving to Spain, yes, I get a little anxious and yes, I suppose it’s a tinge of nerves, but right now I am more eager to go than anything.  Sure, it is going to be incredibly difficult to say good-bye to my mother at the airport, but she has been so supportive of me and she is so happy to see that I am happy, I can’t imagine not leaving.  I talk to Veronica each and every day and she is constantly in my thoughts.  I worry about her, she worries about me, I imagine what it is going to be like when I set my eyes on her at the airport, and she tells me she is organizing everything in our home so that I am perfectly comfortable when I arrive.  Yes, our relationship moved forward at the speed of light, but I have never been happier and when she and I talk about the things we want for our lives, I know we are a perfect fit.  We call it our home, and I already refer to her as my wife, although that’s not quite the case.  We want to start a family and we’re not going to wait to try.  We talk about being parents and what it will be like to raise a child with such a unique heritage and it makes us both very happy.

I have always said that all I really wanted out of life was to find someone with simple desires like my own who wanted to settle down and start a family and enjoy the simple things in life.  Veronica and I love the idea of sipping coffee together on the couch at night, watching silly television and discussing our days.  We talk about taking our child to the park to play with other children or reading stories to him at night as he falls asleep.  I don’t want anything luxurious out of life, only the joys of having a happy family together.  Yes, we talk about traveling and seeing other parts of the world, but family takes precedence.  As long as I am with her, I don’t care where we are in the world.  Veronica has talked about spending time in the U.S., possibly living here long enough so that our children could experience school here, or perhaps college and I would certainly consider it.  We both have to have jobs and right now our jobs are to be in Spain, even though I don’t yet have one.  Surely we could find work in the U.S. as well, but I want to make sure we are secure before I decide to move back.  Of course vacations to visit my family are always being discussed.

She makes me laugh and I find that to be her most enduring characteristic.  We are going to have a lot of fun together and that is so much more important than fancy cars or expensive clothing.  I can talk to her and I feel comfortable, safe even.  I speak to her in a foreign language that is not natural to me and yet I find it easy to communicate with her, even when I make mistakes.  I want to speak entirely in Spanish once I am in Spain and I am eager for her help.  She has told me that she wants our children to be bilingual, and I agree, but that would require me to speak in English to my kids.  That’s fine, but I still plan on using Spanish as much as I can in every other situation.

While I think often of departing, I haven’t given that much thought to how much I am truly going to change.  They say speaking a foreign language offers you a new personality.  I am going to be speaking Spanish every day and I hope to make friends with whom I can speak to clearly and without stumbling.  I imagine I will come across quite differently to those in Spain compared to who I am here in the United States, and that’s fine by me.  I am eager to tell stories about the U.S. and hear what others think about my country.  It really will be strange to be the foreigner in a foreign land, but I am very excited to see how it goes, and amazingly, I have nothing but positive hopes for it all.  It’s all coming very soon and I will do my best to keep you posted on my adventures.  Until next time.

 

~ by James on January 30, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
